1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Which plow for a 1996 Chevy?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by mkwl, Nov 29, 2005.

1. mkwl

mkwl 2000 Club Member

My Grandpa has a 1996 Chevy 1500 pickup with extended cab, short bed, and V6 engine. The truck is in great shape for it's age with little rust, has 79,000 miles on it now. I would be getting it when I turn 16 (next July), but I am wondering what brand, type and size plow you guys would recommend and the prices. Thanks in advance!:waving:
  2. mmwb

mmwb Senior Member
    from wyoming

I'm not an expert by anymeans, but put a 7' 6" western on my '92 k1500. It is also a shortbed, extended cab. Even with the timbrens, I don't think I'd want anything bigger on there. Though I may try a set of wings if I pick up another lot or two. I have the V-8 so power doesn't seem a problem. I don't know how much torque/hp the V-6 puts out in terms of pushing.
  3. Detroitdan

Detroitdan PlowSite.com Addict

4.3 v6 makes plenty of power. I've known guys to plow commercial with them, and another guy ran 33s for years, you'd never know it was a v6. the carbureted early ones were wide open to modifications, and the vortec fuel injected motors were around 220 hp, almost what a SBC made. In fact I looked at a truck yesterday, 92 1500 with 4.3 and a plow, 225k miles on it and the guy said he did a lot of plowing with it, ran a driveway route for 13 years.
  4. NoFearDeere

NoFearDeere PlowSite.com Addict

I would recommend nothing bigger than a 7.5 footer. Brand is up to you but I would recommend Boss, but thats just what I prefer. All brands have their +'s and -'s. :drinkup:
  5. mkwl

mkwl 2000 Club Member

Thanks guys! Anyone else?:waving: