1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Which Meyers to get ? express or not

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by rmhconst, Nov 18, 2005.

1. rmhconst

rmhconst Junior Member
    from va

I have been scraping for 12 years in Va, several bank and small business lots. I have had a straight 8 1/2' meyers 15 year old hitch system.....I got a 2004 Ford F250 V10 #5200 ft axel and I am going to get a new plow now too ! Here is my logic and rational....GIVE ME THAT FEED BACK, That WISDOM from EXPERIENCE.... I can choose from Western, Boss, Meyers and Curtis...Curtis just does not impress me, motor is on bottom as opposed to being up at radiator level, Meyers and Curtis are local.....Western and Boss are 45 minutes away so WHEN there is a problem only meyers is local enough to be of ANY HELP AT ALL. So on that basis alone i got to go with Meyers. However, both Boss and Western require you to line up two BOTTOM brackets on hook up, Boss is automatic from there, Western is ok. The Meyers EXPRESS mount seems to be a world or three ahead in the hook up department. You pull in UNDER 2 top mount hooks, plug, switch, and install one saftey pin and go. NO LINING up of bottom unseen 2 brackets...as in boss and western. THE BOSS HAS A HYDRALIC LOWERING ARM as opposed too the chains on meyers,,,I reason that the chains are a WHOLE LOT more versital ...futher up and or down as the case may warrent..?.