1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Where to push the snow on res driveways?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Time Cutters, Nov 17, 2003.

1. Time Cutters

Time Cutters Junior Member

This is my first year plowing residential driveway. I was wondering where to push the snow and how to get it there without recking the grass? Can I even leave it on the grass? Should I push it in the street and onto the curb? Any help would be great.

Thanks Adam

CARDOCTOR PlowSite.com Addict

if the garages are on the side i usually
    push it on to the grassor just before the grass

if the driveway deadends at the garage
    i backdrag far enough to back over the pile
    and i push it across the street against the curb

3. dan deutekom

dan deutekom Member

Pushing across the street is illegal in most areas.:nono:
  4. Time Cutters

Time Cutters Junior Member

Pushing it across the street into an open area or state/city property is illegal? I know it is illegal to push it into the street but I am wondering when plowing an alley can I push it to the end and then into an open area (like a small park like area)? Where would you recommend putting the snow in residential and how can I ensure that the property is not damaged?

Any information you can give me is appreciated.
    I have heard so many different things and I am wondering what is best and most widely used and accepted.

Thanks for your help
  5. mpflood

mpflood Member

lose the snow

I like to do what i refer to as "lose the snow" along the curb line
    just like the city trucks would do.The reason pushing snow in the road is deemed ilegal,is all the chit heads that leave a real mess
    out there.
    Good Luck
  6. smh