1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

where to push snow on a res driveway?

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by Time Cutters, Nov 17, 2003.

1. Time Cutters

Time Cutters Junior Member

Hey guys this is my first year in the business and I had a question. Last year i plowed for a buddy and only did parking lots. Now I am on my own and have some residential accounts and was wondering were exactly is the best place to push the snow without recking the grass. Any advice would be so helpful.

Thanks Adam

2. JohnnyU

JohnnyU 2000 Club Member

I always backdrag to the street then I stack it up on the corner, as long as there aren't any water shut-offs or landscaping. You will quickly get the hang of bumping the plow so you don't scrape the grass as well. Urethane edges will help with that as well.

My favorite drives are the one's with offset drives, two pushes straight in, and Im done. I try to target these homes during the fall, I drop a flyer, or stop and ring the bell, have a little chat with them, seems to work great. Good luck this year.

3. speedracer241

speedracer241 Senior Member

Be sure to raise the blade up just a hair as you stack the snow onto the lawn. That will help prevent too muck lawn damage.
    Also be sure to push it back far enough so you don't run out of room as the season continues.

Good luck
    Mark K

4. Time Cutters

Time Cutters Junior Member

I think I put this in the wrong place.(pics)Well sorry for that but thanks for all the info greatly appreciated

Thank Adam

5. Big Nate's Plowing

Big Nate's Plowing PlowSite.com Addict

6. JohnnyU

JohnnyU 2000 Club Member

When in doubt, draw a picture:p