1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Where do these people come from

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by mpriester, Nov 13, 2014.

1. mpriester

mpriester Senior Member

A client calls and says we have another contractor looking to obtain our lot but we want you if you can match their price(i have been doing this lot for 3 years). I ask how much lower are they than me and she says around $100.00. My next question is what is their price and she says they are using 150lbs of salt and i say stop there, You mean to tell me they are going to salt your 55000 sq. ft. lot with 150lbs of salt. I explain to her the industry standard for salt per square foot and tell her how much i apply. She calls me back 5 minutes later and says thank you for enlightening us and that i have the contract.
    If this guy is pricing lots this cheap myself and other local contractors will probably be getting calls from potential clients because this guy will go bankrupt before winter even gets started.
    Sorry if its a little long winded but i had to share this.
  2. elitelawnteam1

elitelawnteam1 Senior Member

That's a lot of pavement for only 3 bags of salt:dizzy:

They may come from springfield

Last edited: Nov 13, 2014
  3. JustJeff

JustJeff PlowSite.com Addict

Your point is???
  4. Citytow

Citytow Senior Member
    from phila

when you go to shop for a new truck , do you look for the best deal or just buy the first truck you see ???
  5. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

If you have to ask...........

OP, apparently this guy attended a John Allin seminar, as he is telling contractors 70#/acre is sufficient.
  6. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707