1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

where can I buy solenoid

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Twolf, Nov 19, 2008.

1. Twolf

Twolf Junior Member
    from Maine

locally? auto parts store have them? I'm new to this plow thing...

thanks

2. plowtime1

plowtime1 Senior Member

Solenoid for? more info..thanks

3. Twolf

Twolf Junior Member
    from Maine

speedcast, top of the electric motor. Motor all of a sudden won't work (come on) . I've checked the fuses, thinking maybe it's the solenoid. looks like a starter motor solenoid (#2 on this page)
    http://www.rustrepair.com/snow_plow_parts/onlinecat.htm?r=ds&p=sn-fisher-fi.pump
    the number on it is saw 4220
    the wire off the top of it runs to the fuse box through a switch to turn the motor on ( bad switch in the joystick was bypassed by previous owner0. How can I check the solenoid?

4. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

A lot of part stores will have some replacement parts for plows. I have seen them at Advance and NAPA stores. Central Parts Warehouse at the top sponsor line has all kinds of parts. Search " Snow Plow Parts" on the INTERNET. Millsupply.com is another supplier that will ship parts.

5. Twolf

Twolf Junior Member
    from Maine

How can I test to see if it's the solenoid or the motor?

6. MAR4CARS

MAR4CARS Senior Member