1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

When to use 4x4

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Jaynen, Dec 7, 2009.

1. Jaynen

Jaynen Senior Member

I tried my 4x4 out on my truck a couple times so far while driving to see if it would engage and it does so I turn it off. But I tried it today and turned to pull in my driveway and the steering went stiff. I was reading that this is the driveline binding up? I have never used 4x4 before, only used an AWD vehicle. Is it okay to drive from house to house with the 4x4 on all the time? Is there times that I should be turning the 4x4 off? Sorry for the dumb question and thanks to any responses.

2. JR Snow Removal

JR Snow Removal Senior Member

Some people may say different but when when I'm out plowing its on all the time unless the roads are dry or just wet

3. CGBear

CGBear Junior Member
    from Chicago

Read the book on your truck dude! If I'm out plowing the roads are plenty slick so I drive in 4x4 all the time.

4. Seaway25

Seaway25 Senior Member

I almost never use it.

5. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

i rarely use it when driving unless its really slick out

6. Tosa93F250

Tosa93F250 Member

Definately read you manual's 4x4 Section. If you use it on dry pavement it will cause binding and could possibly damage the system. When you swithc into 4x4 it forces all 4 tires to turn at the exact speed. This becomes a problem when turning since the outside wheels have to travel farther which means they have to spin faster.

If you aren't on at least wet pavement leave it off. If you aren't having any traction problems without it you don't have to use it.