1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

when to start advertising?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by coalfieldslawn, Oct 18, 2015.

1. coalfieldslawn

coalfieldslawn Member

It might be a little early to start, but with the temperature dropping dramatically in my area. It had me thinking. When is the best time to start advertising for snow removal? I'm new to plowing this seasion so I'm still learning. I just didn't want to be the guy that waited to long and didn't want to be the annoying guy that starts way too soon. I mainly do lawn care and landscaping and already have customers that have told me when it snows to come take care of it. I'd just like to gain a little more knowledge and take in all the advice I can get. Thanks in advance!

2. MK97

MK97 PlowSite.com Addict

Well you are already that guy who is too late. Most start doing contracts July--September.

3. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

Yes, for commercial. Residential guys can start later because homeowners don't think about it as soon. If I were doing residential I would have started a few weeks ago, depending on where you live. OP, where do you live? What kind of plowing are you looking to do, residential or commercial, and when does it usually start snowing where you live? Need more information to give a good answer.

4. JimMarshall

JimMarshall Senior Member
    from NW PA

I signed my first snow contract back in July. I really start re-upping customers around 10/15. Most of mine are commercial.

5. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Plenty of bottom feeders looking for a plow guy,

6. JimMarshall

JimMarshall Senior Member
    from NW PA

????? Directed at me?

7. Mark Oomkes