1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

When time is an issue...

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by butch74, Nov 5, 2001.

1. butch74

butch74 Junior Member

I am a school teacher that is looking to earn some extra money for some remodeling work in the home. Have a truck ( made modifications to beef up the 89 F-150)and plow and have done some family drives and friends etc. Thing is I can only plow 3 pm to 6:30 am during the week and free on weekends, and our no school days. Is it worth going our to get customers? Do I explain the time frame? There are people with businesses 24/7 in the area.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

You posted a couple of weeks ago that you had seven driveways lined up. I would advise that in your situation, concentrate on these and leave the commercial to those who are going to be available when the plowing is needed. The residential is much more likely to be forgiving of snow piled during the day. Just so it's plowed so they can get out in the morning and back in the evening (or whatever their work hours are). Remember, you'll only be needed on the day it snows and then everyone wants you - now. Commercial will generally insist on being snow being no more than an inch or two - especially during the day (or business hours). You could also put an ad in the paper and take on those one-time pushes on the weekends.

Good luck.
  3. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned