1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Whelen Vertex Install Pictures Part 1

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by Joe Snow, Nov 16, 2008.

1. Joe Snow

Joe Snow Senior Member

Thought I'd snap a couple pictures as I install these. Not difficult at all, just time consuming as you want to make sure you do it right. Biggest PIA is getting shavings from drilling out of the sealed composite headlight. I've discovered putting a shop vac hose on one end and blowing with a compresser in the other works pretty good.
    Anyhoo, I'm not a professional photographer or installer, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, so don't expect perfection on either count.

1st picture is the mess you get when you remove both headlights from your 3rd generation Ram.

2nd picture is of the right left headlight housing. The turn signal screws into the hole on the left. I'm putting my lightheads in the turn, next to the bulb opening.

Continued next post

vertex1.jpg

vertex2.jpg

2. Joe Snow

Joe Snow Senior Member

Whelen Vertex Install Pictures Part 2

Here's the other right light with the vertex installed. This is a two-layer situation here, so the first hole had to be mad bigger to accomodate the larger mounting flange.

Next photo is a before of the turn signal area and last photo shows the lighthead installed.

I'll keep plugging away here and try to remember to take taillight pictures, but that might be tomorrow.:dizzy:

vertex3.jpg

vertex4.jpg

vertex5.jpg

Last edited: Nov 16, 2008
  3. High Voltage

High Voltage Member
    from MI

Where is the picture? I just ordered the same lights. I think they will be here Friday.

4. Joe Snow

Joe Snow Senior Member

Pictures show up OK here...