1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

whelen responder lp install help

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by mulcahy mowing, Feb 3, 2008.

1. mulcahy mowing

mulcahy mowing Senior Member

I just bought the Whelen responder lp last night I bought the magnetic mount so I can take it off the truck in the summer. I want to hard wire the light to my truck with a quick disconnect so I don't have to use the cig lighter. What is the best way to go about this? I'm a newbie to automotive wiring. It would be great if you guys can attach pics of your installs I have searched for this but didn't find much. The truck is a 2003 F150.

Thanks!:)

2. bltp203

bltp203 Senior Member

I am hardwiring a power point (cigarette lighter receptical) that will be located behind my back seat. It will be switched. Should be done this week, if so, then I will post pics.

3. Fiafighterdude

Fiafighterdude Senior Member
    from ME

use these connecters and run the wires through the 3rd brake light

4. Fiafighterdude

Fiafighterdude Senior Member
    from ME

heres the connecter's

PhotoID10941.jpg

5. Sharp Charge

Sharp Charge Member

On my last truck I put additional lights under my hard tonneau cover, I used a flat 4 trailer wiring connector and a switch inside the cab. You can buy them at any auto parts store and they're cheap and a bit sturdier than spade connectors. I don't have any pics, but it's not too hard.

Good Luck.

6. DodgeGuy

DodgeGuy Member

x2 on this idea. I used a 6 pin trailer connector for my Responder LP(hardwire version) works great and is durable. Added benefit with trailer connectors, you can't reverse polarity.

7. mike psd

mike psd PlowSite.com Addict
    from pa