1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what's the science on vertical vs radial?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by MagnumB, Feb 18, 2009.

1. MagnumB

MagnumB Junior Member

Hi all, first post!!!

Could someone explain to my why the radial lift cuts better than the vertical lift?

I only ask this because when you typically cut you have your arm right down so if you are using your bucket control how does radial or vertical lift arm affect this. Total NoOb question, but aside from the pluses and minuses I hear about, I have never seen it properly explained physically HOW one is better than the other.

Thanks in advance

And feel free to lambaste me if it's a stupid question.....

2. cretebaby

cretebaby PlowSite Veteran

Whos said it does?

What brand(s) of machine is in question?

Where is powerjoke when ya need him?:rolleyes:
  3. Dodge2

Dodge2 Member
    from ottawa

From what I understand, the difference between radial lift and vertical lift on a SS. Is with the radial lift your buck will be closer at ground level, half way up it should be further out, and all the way up it should be around where it is on ground level, it travels in an ark. With vertical lift the bucket will stay at the same distance away from the machine at all heights. This I'm not too sure about, but I think a vertical lift would be better for moving any thing really heavy, because your not moving the load away from the SS and then back towards the SS, and with radial lift you have less distance from the bucket to the machine at ground level and highest level, but more at half way compared to a vertical lift. if this is true than radail lift should be better for snow removal. Does anyone know if I'm right?