1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Whats my service worth?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by DRIFTER92, Dec 12, 2009.

1. DRIFTER92

DRIFTER92 Senior Member

I have a 9-2 Poly VXT with a Silverado Diesel 3500, 4 Door, Long Bed, Duals. I want commercial lots b/c of terrible turning radius. Ive ran equipment since childhood but this is my first year plowing. I am available at any hour, with response time of an hour or less. No Salt capabilities on the truck. Area is West side Indianapolis. I have no insurance other than full coverage on my truck, the company knows i have a plow for hire. I assume i would work under an insurance umbrella of the contractor? New to the industry but i have been reading the forums for a while now and researched techniques and chatted with experienced plowers. I own my own business that is slow in winter months. Hours are unlimited, Im a hard worker and very reliable, running a business of my own i know the importance of customer satisfaction. I'm just not sure how much $/HR or Fuel+$/HR i am worth. Let me know guys :drinkup:

2. TommyMac

TommyMac Senior Member

Sounds like you got a nice reliable set-up, have you ever thought of plowing for a town or do you only want to do lots

3. procut1

procut1 Senior Member

Cant say for indiana. But around here we get subs with pickups for $50 an hour

4. AGMI

AGMI Member
    from NE Mass

sounds right...no ins = $50, but I would be skeptical of hiring you

5. Dissociative

Dissociative 2000 Club Member

a noob with a not so desirable truck set-up .........any over 50 TAKE IT

and you will need a million dollar general liability and commercial auto coverage

6. AIMscapes

AIMscapes Member