1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What's it worth?

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by snowplowdog, Sep 3, 2011.

1. snowplowdog

snowplowdog Member

Just curious what a setup like this might be worth.

I'm looking at a 91 yj with a plow on it. According to the seller the body is pretty much shot (typical YJ rust) but the frame is solid. It has an automatic transmission behind the inline 6 which he says he purchased new from Jeep 10,000 miles ago. The plow is a snow way, which I know very little about as I have never used one before. I would have to verify everything that he had posted when I actually look at the Jeep.

2. Hubjeep

Hubjeep Senior Member

Any running/driving SWB (short wheel base... cj, yj) Jeep is worth no less than $1,000 IMO, but would not pay more than $1,500 for one that needs a body. Carefully check the frame where the rear cross member mounts, the bottom can rust out.

The new automatic trans doesn't add too much to the Jeep regardless of how much it cost the previous owner.

A used Sno-way would probably sell for $500+ assuming it is a few years old, very new $1500 tops. They are good plows, but some people are dubious about them due to the Lexan mouldboard.

I would look for a Jeep with no plow and buy plow separately, put them together yourself.

3. Jeepm@n

Jeepm@n Member