1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Whats a good perhr pay for plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by pats plowing, Aug 14, 2002.

1. pats plowing

pats plowing Senior Member

My city always needs more snow plowers for residential streets. They rent trucks and operators. I was told it would be best for me to do this since i can plow when there is no school and not have to be out doing drives when i am at school. For a 3/4 ton with 8ft blade you start at $50 an hr. You can go pretty darn slow as well. I am new to plowing but many plow operators including city workers said it would work best for me. Is it worth it for my first year? I know it will put a lot of strain on the truck but my truck has recently been rebuilt(engine) and auto trans replaced. By the way my truck has never been worked before.
    thanks again guys
    and on my other post i have decided to go with a fisher plow $3600 installed sound fair?
  2. wolfie

wolfie Senior Member

Which Fisher plow? I paid $3800 installed last November for a 8'-6" EZ-V. But that was the price when buying the truck too... So I imagine there was some money to play with on the dealers part.
  3. SnoJob67

SnoJob67 Senior Member

$50 per hour sounds impressive...

I don't know how much snow you get on average, but I know you have undependable winters just as we do in the midwest.

For argument's sake, let's say you receive 24" of snow for the season of 2002-2003. Lets say each 2" represents 4 hours of plowing. You have 12, 2" accumulations, with a 4 hour minimum each time out (I don't know their terms, but I'm doing this to illustrate) that equals 48 hours you would plow.