1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What would you do

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Neige, Nov 9, 2009.

1. Neige

Neige Sponsor

Here is a question for you guys.
    I have been doing a small service station for the last 8 years. My price is at 2 grand and its 600 ft from my shop. They just offered me a similar one for the same price that is a 10 minute drive out of my work area so thats 20 minutes travel time for a job that takes 20 minutes. Across the street my competitor does a 24 hr service station for $1800 same size as mine. Its not rocket science that I can make more money doing the service station accross the street for $1700 than the one outside my service area. So what would you do?
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2009
  2. cretebaby

cretebaby PlowSite Veteran

Use a bucket, it would be faster.:drinkup::laughing:
  3. Triple L

Triple L PlowSite Fanatic
    from Canada

For existing customers I go a little out of my way.... Nothing better then having 4 or 5 properites under 1 invoice payup... LOL

But new customers its real hard for me to go 5 min out of my service area...
  4. TCLA

TCLA 2000 Club Member

Wow! Sounds a little crazy to me.

5-10 minutes would not be an issue as far as I'm concerned. Not really much of a drive for new opportunities.
  5. LoneCowboy

LoneCowboy PlowSite.com Addict

So, I would go for it
    5 minutes isn't a killer, and it will still make you money
    Plus you become the "sole source" provider for this other company

Because, just like me, I like to do business with one place.
    One contact, one check, one invoice, etc.
    Lots of places want to do that.