1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what wiring is this?

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by pbjunkie92, Nov 6, 2015.

1. pbjunkie92

pbjunkie92 Member

Hey guys. Sorry, I'm new to this plow stuff and I'm thoroughly confused by all the different wiring styles. Can someone identify this plow side wiring for me please?

2. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic

Three plug plow

That was easy

One is main power feed,

One is lights

One is plow control
  3. pbjunkie92

pbjunkie92 Member

so it is neither 9 nor 12 pin? would this be the 3 plug that works with the 4 port isolation module truck side wiring?
  4. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

What are you meaning?
  5. mishnick

mishnick 2000 Club Member

If both of those plugs are connected to the plow then they are the light connection and the valve function cable. There should be one more plug with two large pins in it, that would be switched power for the pump motor. This is a three plug ultra-mount one. It will work on any truck with a three plug connection at the grill. It will work with a truck equipped with both the three port or the four port isolation module. You will notice that these two plugs have the same pinout and can be connected to each other. That is so you can plug those two together for storage while the third plug gets pushed into the rubber storage boot on the lift frame.

The three plug system is analog, that is to say that there is a wire for every valve. So if you have a straight blade there will be three pins in the truck side control / function plug. (Ground is achieved at the motor) If it's a V plow there will be 7 pins for the six valves and a common positive.