1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What type of insurance

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by rjigto4oje, Feb 19, 2013.

1. rjigto4oje

rjigto4oje PlowSite.com Addict

Im new to this sit ive been plowing for thirteen years commercialy for a landscaper next year I want to plow commercialy for myself not sure about the insurance coverage needed or the costs do l need general liability and plow insurance or is that overkill you can never have to much ive checked into a bussness licenses and its cheaper than i thought i only plan on plowing no salting

2. greekmaster

greekmaster Junior Member
    from IOWA

General liabilty is a MUST! Better think about salting too! Talk to your agent.

3. greekmaster

from IOWA

...in addition to Truck/plow insurance.

4. rjigto4oje

Do you need additional plow insurance l have never salted and dont know how to charge salting or how much salt to use

5. greekmaster

from IOWA

Be SURE to let your Auto/Truck Insurance carrier know you are driving around with a large piece of heavy metal bolted to your truck! You will sleep easier at night!

6. rjigto4oje

Sounds like you need to have to types of ins and salting equip to buy and then i hope to land contracts i know its a cut throat business every bodys lowballing these days

7. gc3

gc3 Senior Member

Just call your agent and tell them to give you a quote on commercial plowing insurance. When you decide what you want they'll transfer your vehicle insurance with the plow policy then when the snow season is over you call them up and transfer it back to the original one.

8. rjigto4oje

do you agree that you need 2 types of insurance

9. gc3

gc3 Senior Member