1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what to put a plow on?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by loomis, Aug 23, 2003.

1. loomis

loomis Junior Member

Im new to plowsite.com, and i was wondering which one of my vehicles i should put a plow on for the upcoming winter. Unlike some people on this site my age, i do own these vehicles, and im just looking for advice. I have a 1988 K5 Blazer which is stock and has 97500 miles on it, it has a 350 and a rebuilt auto tranny. I also have a 1993 chevy 1500 4x4, it has an auto, 305 w/ 17000 miles on it, 130000 on the rest of the truck. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. JD PLOWER

JD PLOWER PlowSite.com Veteran

I would go with the pickup just for the fact that you will have greater flexibility with that setup. If you need weight in the back or decide to offer de-icing then the pickup is easier to deal with.

BTW welcome to plowsite :waving: .

3. meyer22288

meyer22288 Senior Member

Welcome to plowsite:waving:

Both trucks are strong enough for plowing. I think the pick-up would be a better plow truck because you would be able to get a sand/salt spreader for it if you ever needed it. The pick-up is a little newer than the blazer and has less miles on it so it'll take a little more abuse.

4. snowjoker

snowjoker Senior Member

Go with the pickup!! throw a 7.5 foot plow of your choice on and enjoy:D You may also want to throw a Set of timbren load booster on as well to beef up the front end, and crank up the torsion bars too. BTW Welcome to Plowsite:waving:

5. wyldman

wyldman Member