1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What to get?

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by griffithtlc, Jul 29, 2003.

1. griffithtlc

griffithtlc Senior Member

I am new to this page, but I have to say that after looking around for an hour or so, you guys know what you are talking about, so I am going to give you guys something to think about. I am nearly 17, and my dad and my brothers and I just jumped head first into the lawncare business. But we need a heavier truck to plow in the winter. I am going to get a post-94 ram 2500 reg cab to hang a plow on. There are a few 94-97's around here with less than 100k on them (gas 360) that are under 8500. But then there are some diesels for the same with around 150K. My dad doesn't think I should get a diesel. this summer, it will pull mowers around all day, and then in the fall, it will just get me 15 miles to school and 15 miles back, and when it snows I will swap trucks and it will be plowing while im in school. The Q is 360, V10, or cummins.
    Any info or advice would be great. After i pay the truck off, I am slowly going to build it into an off roader/daily driver.
  2. wyldman

wyldman Member

Buy the diesel if you can find one in your price range.The mighty Cummins is virtually idestructable,and will outlast the body it sits in.At 150,000 miles the Cummins is just starting to get broken in,where the gasser will be on it's way out.You seem to plan on keeping it for a long time,so the diesel is the way to go.