1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what to do if your going off to collage ?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by teamgreendude, Jun 30, 2011.

1. teamgreendude

teamgreendude Senior Member

Well the title says it all, I'm going to Kansas State University to obtain a degree in turf grass management. My question is should I just drop snow removal all together for now and pick up were i left off 4 years later ? I have been doing residential snow removal for 6 years now and commercial sidewalks for another 2 years, and now I've been getting alot of phone calls from commercial customers requesting plowing for their lots. Currently My parents are on my a$$ for thinking about snow, but since I have a chevy 2500hd diesel and I don't want it to sit in the winter. If you were in my shoes what would you do ? I really want to put a boss 8'2'' v plow on her but I don't know. SO what would you do ?
    Thanks,
    James

2. Camden

Camden PlowSite Fanatic

Get your degree and don't worry about plowing right now. In 4 years there will still be snow and there will still be people who need snow removal.

3. teamgreendude

It's just so hard to let go of it after 6 years, my parents have been telling me that and I worried enough that they'll have trouble keeping my business going for a while.

4. alldayrj

alldayrj PlowSite.com Addict

take a few spelling/english classes while you're at it ;)

Give it a try, how far is your school from your accounts? I drove home (4 hours each way) on some weekends to plow some 12"+ storms and made enough to cover travel expenses and still make it worth it. Keep it small and if all goes well take on more accounts next year.

5. teamgreendude