1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what to do about cars in driveway

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by diaberic, Jan 8, 2016.

1. diaberic

diaberic Junior Member

so im new to plowing and have picked up a couple driveways close to my house. my question is what do you veterans do about the cars....do you drop the blade and clean whatever you can? or do you quickly brush the snow off and clean around them. so far the driveways i got i will be getting out to shovel/blow some small walkways (which i am fine with, im 26 just trying to make some extra cash plus i only got a couple drives so far)....so do i clean them quick when i goto do the walkways or stay away from them.....just trying to figure out what some of the norms are for doing residential....thanks

2. immortal.ben

immortal.ben Member

Drop and drag away from front/back of car. Push the rest where it goes. Don't hit the cars. :p

3. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

Don't do ****. Make it clear to the homeowners that they have to move their vehicles if they want their driveway cleared. You shouldn't have to knock on doors either. By the way, are you insured for plowing?

4. PLOWMAN45

PLOWMAN45 2000 Club Member

if they move the cars and call you back make sure you charge again

5. allagashpm

allagashpm Senior Member

I get as close as I can. I don't come back either, never had a complaint. People expect to have to do some shoveling.

6. sota

sota Senior Member
    from NJ

I would drag/push what I can and leave the cars alone. I wouldn't even want to take on the liability of brushing one off, as just what you need is someone to say you "scratched" their paint with a broom.