1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What to consider

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by farmerkev, Jan 23, 2012.

1. farmerkev

farmerkev Senior Member

I have a few years of snow removal experience for a contractor, and am looking at picking up a few of my own accounts. I dont want to start another "help me bid this" or "bid this for me thread" as those are pointless. Rather I want some help setting up a plan for how to bid myself. I did search but the only threads that seem to pop up are more "help me bid this" threads.

I understand the different ways to charge, such as hourly, per push, seasonal etc. I Figure after a season, Ill get a much better handle on bidding on my own. But I want some advice so I dont get screwed over completely at first. Just looking for some advice from some of you to help get me started.

My experience is mostly in a 3500 DRW chevy with a 9' straight blade, but Ill be plowing in my truck, a 3500 SRW 3500 with a 7.5' straight blade (hopefully getting wings soon), and Im looking into a few smaller commercial lots.

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Take what you know now about plowing and use it for yourself. Next time you go plow a lot try and figure out how much you would charge for it yourself.

3. farmerkev

farmerkev Senior Member

Im getting a good idea on how long I will take on lots, but I just am not sure what all to consider in what to charge for. Fuel, my time, insurance costs, etc. Could use a step in the right direction figureing out these parts.

4. snowman55

snowman55 PlowSite.com Addict

farmer I'll help you with some of that, But I'm not going to continue teaching you plow techniques if your gonna leave next year.