1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What to charge?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by sno-problem!, Dec 14, 2009.

1. sno-problem!

sno-problem! Junior Member

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to the industry and I have been charging $20 per service for residential snow removal. For some houses there is a driveway and sidewalk, others just have a sidewalk.

I see other companies around here charging about $100 a month or $250 per season.

This is in Alberta, where we have long ass winters and lots of snow, and I just don't understand how these guys are making any money. Off of one customer, I make in 5 days what they would be making in a month for the same customer.

Is there something I'm missing here? How do you guys prefer to charge? Monthly? Seasonal? Per Service?
  2. Deco

Deco Senior Member

what are you comfortable with ? stay with that .
  3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

$20 is WAY to cheap for around here.
    Prices vary ALOT in different parts of the country
  4. iamhere

iamhere Senior Member
    from Tn

He's in Canada...... Not the US.

If you are making a PROFIT with your current prices then maybe bump it up to $25 or $35 per service.
  5. sno-problem!

Thanks guys..

Yeah I'm in Alberta, Canada. There's a lot of money here and we haven't felt the hit of the bad economy as bad as most places have, so I can see people willing to pay a little more. I have definitely been considering bumping up my prices, but when I see all these other guys charging next to nothing it made me second guess myself. But I just don't see how they are making much profit.

Any other guys from Alberta??
  6. jzeller4

jzeller4 Member
    from ohio