1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what to charge for my plow an time

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by lawngrasshopper, Dec 5, 2005.

1. lawngrasshopper

lawngrasshopper Junior Member

i can really use some help on finding out what to charge for an hourly rate for my plow and time. this is my first year plowing on my own and imnt sure what to charge. i would be a sub i guess you can say until i can get my own commercial accounts.i have a ford f250 4x4 with a 7.5 myers plow and a optional salt spreader for the back that i have yet to put on. can you give me some advice? thank you.

2. snoluvr

snoluvr Senior Member
    from RI

pay per hour

Easy to figure:
    cost of truck, insurance,plowing insurance, maintenance, repairs, business expenses, your time= hourly rate..

3. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation Senior Member

If you are going to sub its not necessarly what you want to charge , but what the other guy will pay . If this is your first year , he will be paying you to learn . Going after commercial accounts with 1 truck can be a disaster unless you have reliable back up . If your 1 truck goes down and you dont get the jobs done you are screwed .

4. lawngrasshopper

ITS NOT MY FIRST YEAR DOING THIS ITS MY FIRST WITH MY OWN TRUCK.THERE HAS TO BE A DOLLAR AMOUNT TO AT LEAST START FROM DONT YOU THINK AND THATS WHAT IM TRING TO FIND OUT GETTING WORK AND BIDDING HAS BEEN THE HARDEST THIS WHOLE YEAR FOR ME BECAUSE IM IN BUISNESS FOR MY SELF AND NOT WORKING FOR ANYONE.

5. MOW ME OVER

MOW ME OVER Senior Member