1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What To Carry when Plowing?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by PremierLand, Aug 21, 2005.

1. PremierLand

PremierLand PlowSite.com Addict
    from detroit

Hey guys, I know this has been talked about before, because I remember reading the thread, however thats all I remember, is reading the thread, I dont remember any of the facts, and I couldnt find it, lol.

Anyway, its my first time plowing this season. What kind of spare parts should I carry with me for my plow for those unforseen circumstaces? Its a 8ft Curtis mounted up to a 2001 Chevy 3/4 ton.

Also, what else should I carry other than a flash light, tow strap, tool box, and first aid kit?

Thanks Guys.
  2. frndinalowplace

frndinalowplace Senior Member
    from 7hills

shovel,chains,straps,cell phone, for sure like u said a tool box,gloves thats what i bring....
  3. PremierLand

PremierLand PlowSite.com Addict
    from detroit

cool thanks. What about parts for the plow. I remember someone saying something about a selenoid?
  4. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

Spare hoses,fluid,motor for plow if you have it,propane torch and pins for the plow.
  5. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Come-A-Long if you need to transport after loosing hydraulic fluid. Snacks. A couple gallons of spare fuel. Change of socks, boots, insulated coveralls, something to lay on in the snow. And a hat. My lesson from last year - paper towels and some windwasher fluid for when your windshield motor wiper goes out in the middle of the route :realmad: . The only good part was I found out it was covered under warranty on an eight year old truck (seems mine wasn't the first one).
  6. grassmanvt