1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what should i take when plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by GAULK, Nov 30, 2005.

1. GAULK

GAULK Junior Member

I'm sure this has been asked a few times, i was wondering what i should carry with me when I'm plowing. (emergency stuff) this is my first year and i have a western 7.5. and a snow ex 575 spreader. if you ever had any problems and had to make on the spot repairs please share, i would like to round every thing up this week. i don't care if you think something is silly or not please share all your info. thanks gaulk
  2. dirt digger

dirt digger Senior Member

I don't know if Western has it but an Emergency repair kit, CD's, some food, shovel (obviously), tow chain or strap, wrenches, WD-40 or equivelent, and coffee or ice tea...thats what i bring.
  3. plowinginma

plowinginma Senior Member
    from MA

Zip ties and Duct Tape never hurt either ..

REAPER 2000 Club Member
    from 60050

Fire extinguisher and 1st aid kit. Aspirins couple bottles of water, Anti freeze and Windshield washing fluid. Ice scraper gloves back up boots/shoes. Overhauls if you have a flat to change.

This is but a few things I carry I also have any tool that I would need as well as a small self igniting torch. Brake fluid, pwr. str. fluid, oil, hyd. fluid, 2 cycle oil, breaker bar for lug nuts and a couple of those tubes of sand just in case. Although I salt if I ever got in a bank or a high drift and stuck I think I would want sand.
  5. GAULK

GAULK Junior Member