1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What should I expect from my truck

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by michigan Joe, Jan 18, 2005.

1. michigan Joe

michigan Joe Junior Member

This is my first year plowing and I bought a 2004 f250 superduty 5.4l. I dont have alot of jobs this year, hopefully that will change next year. My question is, assuming I dont crash into anyting or break something myself, how long should my truck hold up before I should expect some problems and what kind of extra maintainance should I be attending to to insure it stays in good condition? If you havent noticed from my questions I am not an auto buff so any basic information will probably be very helpfull to me. Thanks alot.
  2. sgthawkusmc

sgthawkusmc Member

Keep your oil changed and don't beat on your rig and it will last for a long time. I have 28k on my 04 and have not had a single problem. You can plow and not beat on your truck if you pay attention.
  3. johntwist

johntwist Senior Member

In addition to regular oil changes, check your tranny fluid often. If it seems to be getting darker and/or smells burnt, have the fluid and filter changed.
    Battery connections are also important. Wire brush any corrosion off and keep some dielectric lube on there. As soon as your wipers fail to clear well, replace them, good visibility is very important. I also recommend the Rain X products for water repelling and anti fogging of your glass.

At the end of the season, have your front end aligned as well as a check of all front end components, drag link, ball joints, shocks, springs, etc. Replace anything worn before next season.