1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What should i be paid?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by R0LLM0DL, Nov 20, 2010.

1. R0LLM0DL

R0LLM0DL Junior Member

Help me out guys...

Ive been working for a guy the past 4 years driving his truck with a plow only getting paid $15 per hour. I now know i should have been paid more than that.

Anyway, i now have a dodge ram of my own and im in the market for a used plow.

He wants me to keep working for him but i dont want to get taken advantage of again like a moron...

He has several big accounts. All commercial, some a couple of big lots 100+ cars, others that are about 30 cars...several banks with the drive up teller...and he just picked up one thats even bigger than last year. One account has 50 sites...

What should i be getting paid an hour or how should this work?
  2. clark lawn

clark lawn PlowSite.com Addict
    from NE ohio

how big of a plow? how big of a truck? your fuel or his? you see were this is going?
  3. R0LLM0DL

R0LLM0DL Junior Member

yes i see where u are going with this...
    dodge ram 1500, my fuel, his salt, his contract. all im doing is getting in my truck with plow. plowing locations...dropping some salt.
    im just looking for a general idea. i know i cant get specifics...
    plow size matters?

thanks for the response...
  4. erkoehler

erkoehler PlowSite Veteran

Bigger Plow = higher efficiency = more $$$
  5. keitha

keitha Senior Member

$15/hr in your area is probably low, esp after 4 years.
    Ask for a raise and drive his equip.
    You'll most likely make more money.LOL
    You'll need your own insurance. Regardless of how many hours you get.