1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What Plow To Buy?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by LI NY PLOWER, Mar 26, 2006.

1. LI NY PLOWER

LI NY PLOWER Junior Member

Hi guys, this is only my 2nd post but i have been glued to this great site for 2 years, anyway...i just bought a used (MINT) F-350xlt for a steal...ive been plowing for 5 years using a 1994 Chevy 2500 with a Fisher 7.6 minute mount.
    Iam going to put a plow on my new toy but i have a couple of ?s for you guys

1. Do i put an 8' fisher or a 7.6 ?

2. What do you guys think of the arctic poly-plows?

Thanks again for any input...winter was so-so here on Long Island, total of 5 billable stormspayup Take care all...Kevin:drinkup:

2. Mysticlandscape

Mysticlandscape Senior Member

Get the 8ft fisher, I have no experience with the poly plows. I would think they are no good for commerical plowing if thats what you will be doing.

3. gene gls

gene gls PlowSite.com Veteran

Poly plows are fine,don't rust....like my old Fisher.

4. Yaz

Yaz PlowSite.com Addict
    from NH

I have to say if you have been montoring this site and been plowing for years why would ask? It's have been answered about a million times.. lol

use the seach! :redbounce

5. SwiftSnow&Salt

SwiftSnow&Salt Member

Bigger....

I'd go with an 8.5' or 9' blade if it was my truck. BEEFY F350 no problemo carrying it.

JMO

BIG AL

6. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

You, my friend are prejudice.
    Prejudice: Fear based on lack of knowledge.

Polycarbonate have the same tensile yield as equivalent steel, don't rust, slide snow easier. They are also cheaper to replace then a one piece moldboard if you do damage them beyond use.

7. cet