1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what plow is the best??

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by linguini, Oct 18, 2003.

1. linguini

linguini Junior Member
    from vermont

i am considering putting a plow on my 1992 ford f150 i have looked at different plows...fischer, snoway and curtis? i will be plowing just my own driveway and perhaps another two or so?? my question is what plow would serve me best?? my truck is an automatic 6cylinder will that have an effect?? i am new to all this and welcome your input....ty:help:

2. Mike 97 SS

Mike 97 SS Banned
    from U.S.A.

You need something light for the frontend of that truck to be able to handle it. What snowplow dealers do you have locally to you? I just noticed you didnt say if the truck in question is 4wd or 2wd. If its 2wd, you can forget it, it will never work. If its 4wd, you can put a plow on it, a light duty plow. Fisher has a few lightweight plows on the market, as does Western also. I have no experience with Curtis, so I cant help you out there. I know SnoWay plows are light also, the plastic see-through kind, so that is an option as well. Do you have a SnoWay dealer close by? Welcome to PlowSite by the way! Post back and let us know which snowplow dealers you have locally, and if your truck is infact 4wd. Mike :waving:

3. Adams plowing

Adams plowing Senior Member

you'll probaly want to stay away from the curtis plows although they are good plows they are rather heavy. snowway makes some nice lightweight plows.

4. linguini

linguini Junior Member
    from vermont

yes my truck is 4wd, it has a front weight of 3800#

5. Adams plowing

Adams plowing Senior Member