1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What kind of truck to buy

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Green Boys Lawn, Apr 24, 2006.

1. Green Boys Lawn

Green Boys Lawn Junior Member

I'm new to this. I have picked up a bank job, and promised to do the snow-plowing to get the job. The parking lot is not very big (1/4 acre). I also have a church (with a good size parking lot - maybe an acre) that is interested in snow removal. The truck I have been using for lawncare is only 2 wheel drive and gets bad gas mileage. So, I need to buy a truck before next winter. And, with gas prices I wouldn't mind buying a truck sooner that gets better gas mileage for the lawncare. Obviously, I would like to get a 1/2 ton for the gas mileage for the lawncare. But, is the 1/2 ton going to be good enough for the snow removal. I live in Kansas, and we've only been getting a couple 4-6" snows per winter, but harder winters and bigger snows are always a possibility, so I need something that can handle it if we get a foot or more. What do you guys think? I was looking around on the internet, and it looks like you take a pretty big hit in gas mileage when going from a 1/2 ton to 3/4 or 1 ton. Is this really the case in your experience? Thanks
  2. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping 2000 Club Member