1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what kind of cab do you like?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by coppertec, Dec 17, 2013.

1. coppertec

coppertec Member
    from calgary

hey guys

even though it is a ways off, I have been thinking about what I would like as a "new" main plow. this being my first season plowing, I have limited experience with different vehicles.

I want to know pros, cons and opinions(can of worms, I know) for why everyone chooses a particular truck cab over another.

I did some quick research on here before and pretty much shot from the hip when I went out to buy my current plow; reg cab, with a long box. I saw that setup recommended often on here, but to be honest, Im not sure why. weight and balance probably have something to do with it, and also front axle loads. I have driven a extended cab 1/2 for a daily driver, and I always lust after quad cabs.

Im usually doing mid to larger commercial lots, with little maneuvering needed, but last night I helped out a buddy do one of the hospitals here because he had 3 bobcats breakdown. between parking stalls +the roof of the parkades, I felt like a shorter box would have been nice. I also feel cramped in a regular cab

tell me what you know!
  2. SnowGuy73

SnowGuy73 PlowSite Fanatic

For plowing regular cab long box. For kids crew cab short box.
  3. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

Unless you are gonna plow large lots a crew cab long bed sucks. Ask me how I know. I would prefer a extended cab short bed. Reg cab doesn't have enough room for all my crap or sidewalk guys.
  4. coppertec

coppertec Member
    from calgary