1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what is your plowing method

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by powerjoke, Nov 16, 2004.

1. powerjoke

powerjoke PlowSite.com Addict

i know i'm new to snow i was just wondering what the diferent methods of clearing a loarge open area or maybe just a driveway, i have pushed before eith equipment but am reletively new to trucks so i was just wondering
  2. ProSeasons

ProSeasons Senior Member

Iv'e got this one lot, basically a big square with the entrance at one corner if you will. The first time I did it it took me two hours with the straight blade, so I billed em for a two hour push. Now with the Pro Wings on a 9' 2" Boss Vee (an 11 foot plow) It takes 14 minutes. Like printing money. I start and always reverse back to the entrance in the corner and windrow to each edge like opening a fan. Faster than heck! And I STILL bill 'em for a two hour push!
  3. Robhollar

Robhollar Senior Member

I wonder how you can charge somebody for work you didnt do. If you do 14 mins of work then the way i see it your ripping them off. If it was me i would raise my rates and charge accordingly.
  4. jpunlimited

jpunlimited Senior Member

fair price

another way to look at the 2 hour vs. 14 minutes is 1) he spent more money to improve the technology for removal and now hopes to recupe it within a reasonable amount of time. 2) the first time always takes longer as we learn the best way to handle it. as our skill increases we do not lower our prices.
  5. Robhollar

Robhollar Senior Member