1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What Is The Usual Snfall Rate

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by DESTEFANO3782, Dec 30, 2005.

1. DESTEFANO3782

DESTEFANO3782 Senior Member

This Is My First Year In Northern Mass As An Independant Snow Contractor. I Have Worked For A Sub For A Few Years And Never Actually Paid Attention To The Storms And How They Came And Went, I Just Showed Up When He Called And Plowed. Now I Have Alot More Headaches And Am Wondering How Much Snow Usual Falls Per Hour In Most Cases In This Area????????? And What Are The Chances Of Getting Another 30 Inch Storm This Year Like Last Year
  2. cja1987

cja1987 PlowSite.com Addict

Thats hard to describe numerically, way too much variation. Generally an inch an hour is considered somewhat heavy snow. I have seen as much as 4" an hour though. This is no where near scientific but id say generally for a "normal snowfall" (if there is such a thing) expect an inch every two hours. Still, thats way too general, it depends on temperatures which determine ratios of liquid precip to frozen precip.

Your question is near worthless to be totally honest.