1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What is the perferred engine oil?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by 98GMCSIERRA, Nov 21, 2009.

1. 98GMCSIERRA

98GMCSIERRA Junior Member

Hey guys, i'm somewhat new to Plowsite but i've been reading up for a couple weeks now. I was just wondering what you guys used for motor oil in your truck? Anyone swear by synthetic or a certain brand? Some people say it doesn't matter and others will only use one certain product. Any opinions?

2. lilweeds

lilweeds PlowSite.com Addict

Amsoil..............

3. flykelley

flykelley 2000 Club Member

Same here, not cheap but after a 100K miles on my plow truck it still runs like new, oil stays pretty clean even when its time to change the oil.

Mike

4. Novadiecast

Novadiecast Senior Member

I always use Mobil 1. Call me lazy but as long as my 100,000 warranty is in effect I have the stealer do it. After that I will do it myself. I am halfway there.

And I use the DIC.

5. Newdude

Newdude Senior Member

Mobil Clean 5000 5w-30 for me. I change it every 2500-3000.

6. lilweeds

lilweeds PlowSite.com Addict

If you get an Amsoil Commercial Account, it costs the same of less then Mobil 1

7. bh115577

bh115577 Senior Member

Amsoil in every piece of equipment I manage at the resort as well as at home except during break in to seat the rings.

8. 98GMCSIERRA

I was thinking of switching to Amsoil from Mobil Clean 5000 but just wanted to see if there was anything out there that people preferred more than that. Sounds like that stuff is what I want to be using. Thanks guys.

9. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

Just switched the truck to Amsoil. Will be switching the whole fleet over.

10. mcwlandscaping