1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What is the absolute the most snow you can plow with a atv?

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by flyingdutch16, Aug 4, 2011.

1. flyingdutch16

flyingdutch16 Junior Member

Hey guys,

Im thinking about buying an atv and put a plow it for this upcoming winter.
    Thing is I had a plow for my craftsman tractor and the most it could plow was 3inches tops. Pretty much useless.

So I would like to know how many inches you plow with an atv. Dont know what kind of blade ill be getting any tips on that maybe to? Im completely new to this so bare with me.

Thanks guys!
  2. cold_and_tired

cold_and_tired PlowSite.com Addict

Mine will handle 6" of fluffy stuff or 4" of wet stuff before it has problems. When I load up the racks with sand tubes, it will push just about anything.

A lot of it will depend on the weight of the machine, traction and power. Mine isn't the best in any of those departments.
  3. vegaman04

vegaman04 Senior Member

Add some good weight to the rear and you would be amazed at how much an atv can push. Ive pushed more than 14" of heavy stuff in 4 low.
  4. fordtruck661

fordtruck661 Senior Member
    from CT

I have a Polaris 450 and i have never had any problems pushing snow. The most i have had to plow was 2 feet and around 3 feet at the end of driveway. Yes it will take much longer when there is lost of snow but it will get done. The worst was when it would only snow 1 or 2 inches and then ice over top then you have a big problem getting the plow to get under it. The next worst part is have to be out in the cold (the reason I am selling my quad and buying a truck)
  5. flyingdutch16

flyingdutch16 Junior Member