1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What He Said!!!!

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by grandview, Apr 2, 2008.

1. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Snowplow Operators Deserve Thanks
    By thewhig.com
    Print This Story E-Mail This Story Save This Story

Editor's Note: The following is a March 27 opinion column submitted by Stewart McLean, from Kingston, Ontario to The Kingston Whig-Standard.

Being a snowplow contractor, I am writing to congratulate all snowplow operators. No one knows what it is like to plow snow unless they have done it.

All I hear are complaints about the city cleanups. Can Kingstonians not see how much snow is on the streets after almost every storm this winter? And storms came every second day from mid-November until mid-March. Try plowing during 12-hour shifts every second night for weeks.

The last storm lasted 36 hours and brought 40 to 45 centimetres of snow and freezing rain. The plows have to go up and down narrow streets with care because of the parked cars (why they aren't towed is beyond me).

We had large snowfalls countless times this winter, and people think the streets and sidewalks should be cleared by the next day. My answer is, get a shovel if you are in such a hurry.

This winter wore the help to a frazzle. It caused havoc to the machinery. I think city employees should be given a medal for the work they did this winter. They went above and beyond the call of duty. If you don't think so, ride with them for a night and it won't take you long to find out.