1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what do i need for insurance?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by FurFishGame, Oct 11, 2013.

1. FurFishGame

FurFishGame Member

Im planning on starting a plowing business, I've been doing it commercially for a few years, with a couple residentals,
    wanting to stick with residential for now, what do i need for insurance? obviously I have the standard insurance for driving my truck on the highway, what do i need after that?

im 17, will turn 18 in january, will getting the proper insurance be hard to get since I'm not 18?

2. coppertec

coppertec Member
    from calgary

your age is going to be the biggest road block, im sorry to say. with a clean driving record, my f150 was something ******** like 450 a MONTH from when i was 23 until about a year and a half ago, where it became about $170/mo, which i am still paying (im 26 in a month)
    i have been getting quotes for my first stint plowing on my chevy 3/4 ton, and for most of the brokers i talked to, i was quoted about 6800-7800 a year because i was "high risk" despite my clean record and day job driving premium cars. they said it was due to the car either being "new to me" or lack of experience driving a plow that it was so high.

lucky for me, i seemed to have gotten a hook up through work that seems legit- i'll be paying $143/month which covers the car and $2,000,000 liability. im currently checking to make sure i am not missing anything but it seems like i hit a stroke of luck on this policy.