1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What do i charge????

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by kenmoore, Nov 19, 2010.

1. kenmoore

kenmoore Junior Member
    from 57783

So I am new to plowing although I have run equipment for others. I live in the Black Hills of South Dakota and I really don't know what to charge/ minimums etc. Can anyone give me some ideas. Thanks in advance

2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

You need to figure out your costs, to be able to know what to charge. Truck payments, Insurance, Workers Comp, Fuel, Wages, Plow costs, Salt and spreader costs, I mean everything, put all that on a piece of paper, divide up your yearly snow fall, and how many contracts you have, then come up wit hyour hourly costs. At that point you can bid accordingly and not be in the dark as to if you'll make money, or lose money. Every single person, or company has different cost, and different mark-up's so I can't tell you what you need to charge without knowing your costs. Every area of the country has different rates as well depending on snowfall amounts, availabilty of plowing contractors, and the economy. Cost, vs profit is a hit or miss deal, and very easily can turn the wrong way quickly. So figure out your costs, and go from there.

3. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

depends on what your plowing and for whom your plowing for

4. Tubby's Snow Plowing

Tubby's Snow Plowing Senior Member

Well of course, and answering with the obvious doesn't really help the OP. Perhaps expanding on your answer would serve as assistance.

5. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

ummmmmmm....ok then smarty....what do you charge?