1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What are the advantages of different plows?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jeremey, Jul 26, 2009.

1. jeremey

jeremey Junior Member

Hey guys. I was wondering if somebody could explain to me what the advantages of certain plows. I'm completely new to the biz, and as I'm reading on here, I see people talking about v-plows, 9 ft blades, wings, straight blades, etc... what does all this mean and what are the advantages? I just bought a 7'6" ft Meyer Plow (just picked it up for $2,500 with everything and it's all brand new... kinda pumped about it xysport). Any comments are appreciated, thanks!

2. BigDave12768

BigDave12768 PlowSite.com Addict

Trip edge plows blow your tranny. Full trip plows save them

Trip Edge plow just bottom trips Blade stay straight when you a man hole cover but jumps.( Blows trannys)

[​IMG]

Full trip plow like your myer. The whole blade flops over. (saves your tranny)

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 26, 2009
  3. jeremey

jeremey Junior Member

Thank God. I was expecting you to say that mine was a Trip edge! Thanks for the info.

4. Chrisxl64

Chrisxl64 Senior Member
    from CT

V's are a mid-hinged plow designed to work in a V(Scoop) and ^ position (Vee) the main advantage of this is the scoop postion that works somewhat like a bucket to corral snow and not let it fall off the sides as would when normally windrowing.

5. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

[​IMG]

6. Longae29

Longae29 PlowSite.com Addict

at least you bought your plow before you asked this question.