1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

What are my services worth?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by DRIFTER92, Dec 12, 2009.

1. DRIFTER92

DRIFTER92 Senior Member

I have a 9-2 Poly VXT with a Silverado Diesel 3500, 4 Door, Long Bed, Duals. I want commercial lots b/c of terrible turning radius. Ive ran equipment since childhood but this is my first year plowing. I am available at any hour, with response time of an hour or less. No Salt capabilities on the truck. Area is West side Indianapolis. I have no insurance other than full coverage on my truck, the company knows i have a plow for hire. I assume i would work under an insurance umbrella of the contractor? New to the industry but i have been reading the forums for a while now and researched techniques and chatted with experienced plowers. I own my own business that is slow in winter months. Hours are unlimited, Im a hard worker and very reliable, running a business of my own i know the importance of customer satisfaction. I'm just not sure how much $/HR or Fuel+$/HR i am worth. Let me know guys :drinkup:

2. ScnicExcellence

ScnicExcellence Senior Member

Well this question will get you reamed out.

More so ask how much fuel you can expect to burn?
    Then from there figure the rest of your costs. then divide them by the number of hours you expect to work and add your fuel to it. Then you have your cost of doing it, add some money for profit (which you hopefully make, but with the way you are asking doesn't sound like you will this year.)

Different areas have different rates. Another thing you don't have experience so nobody is goi ng to want to pay you anything the first few times, or very little.