1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

what a joke!

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by go plow, Nov 30, 2006.

1. go plow

go plow Senior Member

i gave a lady a price for plowing a few weeks ago, she called me last night wanting to sign on
    so this morning i went over to her home , gave her the agreement, she looked it over, i then explained what i will do, and asked if she would like to have a proof of insurance, then i went over the contract with her.
    Her husband in a very rude tone, said, boy, you sure are making a big deal for just plowing my driveway! i said, sir, this is a big deal, this is what i do for a living, i dont just do it part time, plus what if something were to go wrong? and i hit your garage doors or car? he said that the other guy broke his curb last year and didnt fix it!
    so then his wife says that my price is the same as they paid last year ,but didnt understand why i charge them sales tax.
    so i explain to them that the state requires me to charge tax on every thing i do, no matter if im just providing my service or if im selling them a product, i told them that i can mail them the info from the state office, or they can look it up on-line , on the state web site...
    so we went back and forth over tax for a while, then i simply told them that they didnt have to hire me, and that i was sorry that they didnt feel comfortable signing on with me, and then i got the old, well, if we hire the other guy and he doesn't show up, can you come?