1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Whaddaya think of this here plow?

Discussion in 'Sno-Way Discussion' started by countrydoc, Apr 9, 2007.

1. countrydoc

countrydoc Member

Hi all,

New kid on the block...well, maybe not such a kid anymore. Looking to set up my '97 Toyota Tacoma (4-cyl engine) for personal snow removal use. I found this Sno-Way on ebay. I have no experience with plow mounting or maintenance, so I'm looking for a little feedback from those in the know about whether this is a complete set-up or not. Can you tell from the pics if it is in reasonable shape? I know that a new kit like this would be in the range of $4000, so if this is in good shape it seems like it would be a good deal even with the cost of shipping (NY to Maine).

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Sno-W...QQcmdZViewItem

Can a 4-cyl Tacoma handle the 22-series Sno-Way? According to the website it can, but my concern is how much power/torque is needed to make it actually push snow, especially up the hill of my driveway.

Thanks

2. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

Have a couple of customers using the 22 on a Taco.

One was in for a leaking hose, and the operator (not the owner) kept talking about how much he abused the plow and truck because it was to light to do the job. I asked if the truck was doing the job and he replied it was. So i don't know how the plow's too light and the truck's too small if it's going the job and not breaking. There are a lot of 22s out there on Rangers, Tacos, Wranglers and Liberty's doing the job commercially.

@ $500 that's a great deal! It's all there. You might have to buy an mount and adapters.

3. countrydoc

countrydoc Member