1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western Wont Move!

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by dirtbike22002, Nov 14, 2013.

1. dirtbike22002

dirtbike22002 Junior Member
    from m

Hi guys, so I'm kind of new to the plow scene or at least the repair scene. Two years ago I got my first plow truck. The truck is an F250 with an older western unimount plow. For the first year I had the plow I had no issues with it at all and plowed all winter with it. Last year i was away at school and unable to plow but, now this year I am back and ready to push some snow. The problem I'm having though is when I Hooked up my plow the other day to do the before season check over it wont move at all. I'm getting power to the controller and 12 volts through the solenoid. I replaced the solenoid because my old one looked like it was from when the plow was originally put on the truck and still had no change. Also I relocated the solenoid because I thought that it may not have been grounding very well but still to no avail. What happens is when i hit the joystick the motor will run but nothing will move. Also it seems like its drawing alot of power from my truck because my lights will dim and my gauge on my dash will go almost to the lowest point it can. I have also changed the fluid in my plow because it was low and needed to be changed anyways. Any help you guys can provide me with would be awesome!!!

2. kimber750

kimber750 PlowSite Veteran

Double check the bumper connections, especially the power for the motor. Make sure they are clean and fit tightly. You can use a small screwdriver to spread the to large pins for the motor power.

3. dirtbike22002

from m