1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

western unimount

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by tike, Jan 14, 2009.

1. tike

tike Junior Member

help.
    I am new to thissite and to dealing with plow trucks. I just spent half an hour typing a post and found out i wasnt logged in .
    I"ll try it again.
    I have a 1984 chevy c-10 4x4 305 cu in. auto trans.with a Western Unimount plow frame mark 3 isarmatic pump cable controls.
    after much trial and error and the shop manual we finally got online .My brother in law and me finally got the thing working.
    The problem is the battery isnt big enough and drains after a couple of cycles. The thing is wired correctly according to manua and works quite well with a battery charger hooked up.I have read a couple of posts about hooking up another battery. I have a couple of questions .
    First ..Does the second battery have to be the same amperage and crancking amp ratings or can they be different?
    Second.. Is the stock altenator on the chevy big enough for 2 batteries?
    third.. Can you tell me the correct way to hook up 2 batteries for this application?
    any help will be appreciated . thanks.
    tike

2. Precision1

Precision1 Junior Member

Check your resistance between your battery and your plow. That can cause your battery to draw heavily.

3. mautore

mautore Member

How old is your current battery? It may be time to replace it, also you might want to check the output of your alternator.

4. sechracer

sechracer Senior Member

Not to be rude, but do you have the truck running when you cycle the plow? if not, it will definitly kill the battery quick.