1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western Unimount MVP wiring problems

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by snowmakerdrew, Sep 27, 2015.

1. snowmakerdrew

snowmakerdrew Junior Member

Hi I am new to snowplows and I am having trouble getting a western unimount working on a 01 dodge ram 2500 cummins. I cannot seem to get the high or low beams to work, nor the pump motor. The turn signals on the plow work and my truck headlights turn off when I plug the plow in. I figure I am having a ground issue or a relay problem but this whole relay system confuses me. Does anyone have one of these systems they can take a picture of? I know Western has the public library but I cannot seem to find the problem.

Thanks
    Andrew

2. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

3. snowmakerdrew

I just realized I posted this in the wrong area of the forum. I apologize for that. This belongs in the truck and equipment repair.

I have seen those schematics and I will try the trouble shooting guide but I believe the previous owner did some rigging of his own so I am a bit lost on what I am working with. If I cannot track down the problem what are my options for updating the wiring?

4. dieselss

What did he rig?

5. snowmakerdrew

Its just a mess of wires that hook up to the relays. He has spliced other wired onto the existing with different colors etc. I think I may possibly have a couple of loose wires that are causing the problem.