1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western Tornado Salt Spreader

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Oasis, Oct 27, 2007.

1. Oasis

Oasis Senior Member

Hi Guys,

Im really new to the business and I seem to have fallen into a number of large commercial contracts. I have recently purchased 2 7.6' Western Plows one Midweight for my Dodge 1500 and a Poly Pro for my Chevy 2500HD. But I also need a commercial size salt spreader and my dealer was suggesting the Western Tornado 7 food Conveyer Spreader. Does anyone know anything about this unit as to its efficientcy or whether its worth the $5000.

2. itsgottobegreen

itsgottobegreen PlowSite.com Addict

GET A SALT DOGG!!!!!!!!!!!! This is coming from someone who has had to install and repair both. The tornado has none stop problems. The salt dogg is realiable and bullet proof. Do a search on the horrior stories of the tornado.
  3. Precision Lawn

Precision Lawn Senior Member

It's all depend on what you like.
    I have a tornado. I got mine when they first came out and I haven't had one problem with it and works great. I have read stories about other people having problems but mine never gave me a problem, except someone running in back of me.

I would go with the one that your dealer will service you the best
  4. T-MAN

T-MAN PlowSite.com Addict

There is allways the exception to the rule, One guy had good luck with the Tornado.