1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western Tornado 1.5, 7', Problem Loading and Unloading on P/U Bed

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by njsnowguy, May 6, 2012.

1. njsnowguy

njsnowguy Junior Member

I have a Ford F-350 dually with an 8' bed. Just picked up a 1.5 Tornado. I am a disabled Vet can't lift much and wanted to know if anyone knows of the easiest possible way to get the salter in and out of the truck. Tornado is strapped now, but will bolt it in the bed for the season. Meanwhile not in the season yet, got to get it out, need the bed. Maybe some day p/u a dump bed insert, might be easier. Any ideas?

2. Fourbycb

Fourbycb Senior Member

Those poly spreaders are fairly light so I would suggest a chain hoist hooked to a tree limb if you have one in your yard avabial to you or a modified engine hoist that what I did. I took a telescoping boom engine hoist and added a 2 ft height to main mast and that lifts my alumium spreader out of mine

3. njsnowguy

njsnowguy Junior Member

Thank you for the advice. It is greatly appreciated. I will look into it

4. CCL LLC

CCL LLC Junior Member

I have the same size polycaster and I can get it in and out solo. If your going to leave it in for the season just have someone give you a hand. Its easier getting the speader out just slide it out enough to get in the bed behind it and let gravity do the rest. Some strength needed to put it on end. Thank you for your service

5. njsnowguy

njsnowguy Junior Member

thanks

Thank you for thekind words and advise.çan you advise how you like the tornado?just told leave no material in hoped over night.how do you store it.

6. FISHERBOY

FISHERBOY Senior Member