1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Western not tripping

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by DieselRules, Jan 11, 2005.

1. DieselRules

DieselRules Junior Member

Hello all. I am new to Plowsite. I have lingered for awhile but just registered. Anyway, I have 2 problems that are really bugging me.

First of all my blade is a Western Pro Plus 8'. The trouble that I'm having is that the blade just does not trip. No matter how much snow I plow through the blade doesn't even come off it's stops. That's not all that bad, just not what I am accustomed to. However it doesn't trip over obstacles. To test it I used a 1" lip of concrete where asphalt meets a concrete slab. I tried going slow, the blade tripped a little but the truck stopped. OK now faster, boom, blade tripped more but the truck stopped. Now I went pretty fast at it and the blade tripped a good amount but the blade STILL did not get over the lip. I literally have to lift the blade when plowing over any little obstacle. My springs are adjusted correctly, actually a little looser now. Western has been of no help. I never had this problem with the old beat up plows I used to plow with at work. They would hit a bump, trip, pop up and keep going.

The other problem I am having is that the cutting edge is wearing in a U pattern. Which is annoying when the blade is straight because it leaves snow on the sides. Western tells me that with the UltraMount pivot the blade should level itself. I realize that but obviously it is not. And I do not only plow at an angle either.

Thanks for the help.

2. Plow Meister

Plow Meister PlowSite.com Addict

Problem 1, blade not tripping...